Call Today! 763-515-8013
Olson Law LLC
A Boutique Specialty Law Firm In Buffalo, Minnesota

DWI

At Olson Law, we handle all types of DWI offenses. If you or a member of your family is charged with driving while under the influence of alcohol, it is important that you speak with a DWI lawyer to determine the severity of your case. Depending on the level of DWI you are charged with, you could be facing severe criminal penalties and collateral consequences such as license revocation, vehicle forfeiture, license plate impoundment, and possibly jail time. Turn to Olson Law to find a DWI lawyer who is available around the clock to answer your DWI related questions and to ensure that your rights are adequately defended.

The Basics

  • Blood Alcohol Concentration (BAC) means the amount of alcohol in a person's bloodstream as measured by a chemical test.
  • BAC can be measured by breath, blood or urine.
  • The legal limit for BAC in the state of Minnesota is .08. Any BAC in excess of .08 is grounds for a charge of DWI.
  • DWI charges are not always related to alcohol. You can be charged with DWI if you are under the influence of any mood altering substance that could affect your ability to properly operate a motor vehicle. Examples include marijuana, amphetamines, or prescriptions drugs.
  • The implied consent law in the state of Minnesota states that you must submit to testing of your breath, blood or urine to detect mood altering substances, including alcohol. Failure to submit to testing is a crime.

Depending On Your Level Of Intoxication And/Or Various Other Factors You May Be Charged With:

Fourth Degree DWI

Fourth degree DWI is almost always a first time DWI offense; and with a blood alcohol concentration of less than .20. Fourth degree DWI is usually a Misdemeanor offense. Collateral consequences may include license revocation, fines, and license plate impoundment.

Third Degree DWI

There are several ways that you can be charged with third degree DWI, including:

  • Second offense within 10 years
  • First offense with one aggravating circumstance present, such as:
    • Having a child in the vehicle
    • Blood Alcohol Concentration of over .20
    • Operating a School Bus
  • Refusal to submit to testing of alcohol by blood, breath or urine analysis will be charged under the third degree DWI statute.

Third degree DWI charges are Gross Misdemeanors and carry with them mandatory jail time. You may also be subject to maximum bail and/or conditions of release. Collateral consequences can include license revocation, license plate impoundment and imposition of "whiskey plates." If you are charged with a third degree DWI you may be required to enroll in the interlock ignition program as well as go through extensive programming to get your license reinstated.

Second Degree DWI

There are several ways that you can be charged with second degree DWI, including:

  • Third offense within 10 years
  • Two aggravating circumstances present; or
  • One aggravating circumstance and one prior offense
  • Refusal to submit to testing and existence of one or more aggravating factor

Second degree DWI charges are Gross Misdemeanors, but carry higher mandatory minimums as to jail time than third degree DWI. You may be subject to maximum bail and/or conditions of release. Collateral consequences include license revocation and/or cancellation inimical to public safety, license plate impoundment, imposition of "whiskey plates," vehicle forfeiture and extensive programming including mandatory rehabilitation and enrollment in the interlock ignition program.

First Degree DWI

First degree DWI charges are the most serious. You may be charged with first degree DWI for the following reasons:

  • Fourth offense within 10 years
  • Prior conviction for First Degree DWI
  • Prior felony charge of Criminal Vehicular Operation or Criminal Vehicular Homicide.

First Degree DWI charges are felonies and carry the possibility of prison. A first degree DWI offense carries all of the collateral consequences listed above for second degree DWI, as well as additional consequences that are associated with a felony conviction.

A DWI Lawyer to Defend Your Case

Chart a Path Through Your Difficulties. Contact us for a free, confidential consultation today: 763-682-4009. Expect a response within 24 hours or less. If you cannot travel to our office, we can come to you. We also offer flexible payment plans.

OlsonLawFull.jpg

Ask An Attorney

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

Ask An Attorney

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy

F4D20902-6990-4634-A03C-5C1B13D1A16F.JPG

Ask An Attorney

Bold labels are required.

Contact Information
disclaimer.

The use of the Internet or this form for communication with the firm or any individual member of the firm does not establish an attorney-client relationship. Confidential or time-sensitive information should not be sent through this form.

close

Privacy Policy